Web Content Viewer

Radiological Branch

The Ohio EMA Radiological Branch team has the capability to respond to nuclear and radiological emergencies on a 24-hour basis; we conduct nuclear power plant and transportation accident response planning and training as well as fostering support for the Utility Radiological Safety Board of Ohio (URSB).

Utility Radiological Safety Board

The Utility Radiological Safety Board (URSB) of Ohio was established by the Ohio General Assembly as part of Amended Substitute House Bill 111 in July of 1989 and later revised by Amended Substitute House Bill 215 in June of 1997. The Board’s purpose is to develop a comprehensive policy for the State regarding nuclear power safety. The Board’s objectives are to promote safe, reliable, and economical power; establish a memorandum of understanding with the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and the State; and recommend policies and practices that promote safety, performance, emergency preparedness, and public health standards that are designed to meet the State’s needs.

The URSB membership consists of six state agencies: the Ohio Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, and Health; the Ohio Emergency Management and Environmental Protection Agencies; and the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio. 

Board meetings are held quarterly at the offices of the Ohio Emergency Management Agency at 2855 West Dublin-Granville Road, Columbus, Ohio, or, when allowed by authorization of the General Assembly, can be held virtually utilizing Microsoft Teams, with public access via the URSB website. The meetings are open to the public.

To find out more information concerning the URSB and its members, please refer to the URSB homepage at http://www.ursb.ohio.gov/ or contact the URSB Secretary at EMARad@dps.ohio.gov

Senior Health Physicists

This section is comprised of regional and centrally located Senior Health Physicists that have a wide range of responsibilities and tasks. This team maintains the capability to respond to radiological incidents at nuclear power plants affecting the state of Ohio. Additionally, they coordinate and monitor the shipment of radioactive materials traveling through the state of Ohio. They also update and test the assessment tools vital to radiological response. They develop, update and maintain procedures necessary for response to nuclear and radiological incidents.

Senior Health Physicists of the Radiological Branch continue their training as Federal Radiological Monitoring and Assessment Center (FRMAC) Assessment Scientists with continuing education quarterly with the Department of Energy’s Emergency Operations Training Academy. Maintaining FRMAC certification will enable the State of Ohio to integrate with the FRMAC scientists in the event of an incident.  Our staff also maintains and supports training and Radiological Emergency Planning for the Branch.


  • Our team will teach and/or set up and host annual classes on radiological emergency response procedures for emergency service personnel for Ohio's three nuclear power plant areas and also for first and emergency responders statewide.
  • Our team also teaches classes for emergency response groups working in the State Emergency Operations Center and in the field.
  • These can be internal sessions developed and hosted by the State of Ohio, FEMA Courses requested by the State of Ohio, or private agencies that can host classes.  To request courses email EMARad@dps.ohio.gov

Radiological Emergency Preparedness (REP) Planning

  • Our team plans for and annually exercises the state's response to emergencies at the three nuclear power plants affecting Ohio.
  • We annually review, revise and submit to FEMA the State Radiological Emergency Plan which must meet Nuclear Regulatory Commission and FEMA guidance  which is also consists of the review and evaluation of county radiological response and plans.
  • The State of Ohio is required by FEMA to submit an Annual Letter of Certification (ALC) addressing periodic requirements that have not been demonstrated in the current year for e.g.) training, nuclear power plant information.  A complete copy of the current year's letter is available from the Ohio EMA Radiological Branch.

Annual Letter of Certification

  • The State of Ohio is required by FEMA to submit an Annual Letter of Certification (ALC) addressing periodic requirements for emergency response to incidents at the three nuclear power plants affecting Ohio (Perry Nuclear Power Plant, Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station, and Beaver Valley Power Station). The letter is submitted on January 31st of each year for information regarding the previous calendar year. A complete copy of the current year's letter is available from the Ohio EMA Radiological Branch.

Radiological Instrumentation, Maintenance and Calibration Lab

  • The Radiological Instrumentation, Maintenance and Calibration (RIMC) Lab maintains field monitoring teams that respond to nuclear power plant incidents and other incidents as needed in support of the Ohio Dept. of Health.
  • It also repairs, calibrates and exchanges radiological response instruments, meters, and equipment used by emergency services personnel in state agencies, Ohio counties, and other states as contracted.

Nuclear Power Plant Information

Perry Nuclear Power Plant is located on 1,100 acres in Lake County near Cleveland.

Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Plant is located on 954 acres in Oak Harbor; 733 acres are devoted to a National Wildlife Refuge.

Beaver Valley Power Station is a two-unit nuclear power plant located on nearly 500 acres in western Pennsylvania.